Six months ago I was pre diabetic and over 300lbs, my health was declining rapidly after my pregnancy where I ended up with late onset  undiagnosed gestational diabetes, and my son ended up in the NICU because of it. At this weight I felt sluggish, tired, and going anywhere and doing anything was a lot of effort and energy which I didn’t have. I found myself depressed on the couch choosing unhealthy foods to numb my pain and frustration after each failed attempt at weight loss, even failing at counting calories and losing weight the “right” way (or so I thought).
During this past summer my husband and myself went to a work summer party, and the next day I saw a picture of myself. I was embarrassed, and I knew I would be when the picture was taken, I have grown used to the embarrassment I feel when it comes to pictures and my weight. I didn’t like how I looked and it dawned on me that I was the largest person there, and although I don’t believe in comparing myself to others, I couldn’t help it.

After seeing the picture and hating how much weight I’ve gained since being diagnosed with PCOS years prior, I decided I didn’t want to be the fattest person at the party, I didn’t want to be the one who stood out because of my weight, I was doing something about it. The problem was that I knew how that always goes, I try for two weeks and then give up. I had to do something different, I had to do something that worked because I was on the verge of giving up on myself and I knew I couldn’t do that with my beautiful son who needs his mom and my loving husband who loves me for who I am. I couldn’t let my health continue to worsen, it wasn’t an option.

The next few days I researched a lot of diet plans and eating plans, I tried to find one that would work for me and it was hard to narrow it down. As everyone is aware, there are so many fad diets, diet pills, and supplements, etcetera to help you lose weight, but I wanted something that I didn’t have to sign up for and buy special food for, I wanted something that would work without a lot of extra cost. Thats when I stumbled upon the Ketogenic diet.

I’d like to first point out that with the Ketogenic diet there is a lot of misinformation out there on it and people are quite nervous when it comes to cutting carbs and what it means. In fact I had my nurse practitioner tell me that people can get kidney failure from it (this is not true at all, not one study has shown this to be a fact or a side effect).

With the ketogenic diet, you stay under 50 grams of carbs a day (a lot stay under 20 grams of carbs) and you eat higher fats. Your protein stays the same as it usually is, but you are cutting out all breads and pastas and sugars. It sounds hard, and starting it was. I had sugar withdrawals and felt horrible for four days while my body switched from burning sugar to burning fat, and its a tough adjustment. Once I got through those four days though, I felt like a whole new person. There best part? I am down 75 pounds so far, I don’t carve food, and there are so many recipes so you can eat all of your favourite foods and you don’t feel deprived!

The ketogenic diet keeps your blood sugars from spiking, and the fat you eat is healthy and makes you feel full. Many people who are  typeII diabetic follow this way of eating and many have reversed their diabetes! My fertility doctor took me off my Metformin, after only a few months on it, this was a huge non scale victory for me. I have energy, I’m no longer always hot and exercise isn’t as daunting (although I still dislike it). Playing with my son is easier, walking around with him at Halloween was enjoyable, and my husband and myself spend a lot more time together outside, this is something I always found difficult. This way of eating has changed my life, actually it saved my life.

I can now proudly say that I am on the way to a new healthy me, I will always be on this way of eating because my body cannot manage carbs in a healthy way, so this is how I will eat for the rest of my life, and I am okay with it. Clean eating, never feeling deprived, and being healthy, I will never take my health for granted, it truly is priceless.

Unknown.jpeg

 

Here’s a delicious recipe, one of many out there for keto:

Keto Crepes

INGREDIENTS
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 8 large egg whites
  • 2 tbs coconut flour
  • 1 tbs psyllium husk or ground chia seeds
  • 90ml / 3 fl oz coconut milk, cream or almond milk
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tbs ghee or coconut oil
  • 2 tsp garlic powder (omit if making a sweet keto crepe and add sweetener to taste instead)
  • salt to taste

Directions:

  1. Separate the egg whites and from the egg yolks. You will only need 2 egg yolks and 8 egg whites, as the crepes hold better together when more egg whites are used. Reserve the remaining egg yolks for another recipe.
  2. Place the whole eggs and egg whites, coconut flour, psyllium husk or chia seeds, coconut milk, baking soda and cream of tartar in a bowl and mix well.
  3. Add the garlic powder (or sweetener if making sweet keto crepes) and whisk well.
  4. Allow the batter to sit for 5-10 minutes so the coconut flour and psyllium have time to swell and absorb the moisture. Whisk again.
  5. Heat a nonstick pan evenly with the ghee or coconut oil. Move the pan while pouring in the batter to ensure the batter covers the bottom of the pan in a thin layer. The batter should be runny so it will spread easily. If it is too thick, you may add 1 tablespoon of water to the mixture.
  6. Make the crepes one by one, greasing the pan in between to ensure the keto crepes don’t stick.
  7. Depending on the size, you can make 2 large or 4 medium crepes per serving.

This recipe can be found at: http://www.ditchthecarbs.com/2016/01/25/keto-crepes/ along with other delicious recipes.

 

 

 

